Folk ball

For us, the beginning of November is the time of our annual folk ball. What does that mean for our group?

Friday evening, we make sure that we are fully prepared and that our space is ball-worthy. First, we take care of the more physical labour, such as dragging tables and chairs to where they need to be. Then we get a little creative when we decorate everything in line with the theme. Once all that is ready, we head to the bowling alley to try and score some strikes. The traditional reward for our hard work.

Saturday evening, it’s showtime! Doors open for members, friends and family, the musicians tune up their instruments and dance cards are exchanged to ensure that one has the perfect partner for their favorite dance. The entire evening is all about dancing and friendship. With all the different groups that are present each year, one can see a few variations of certain dances, which can sometimes cause confusion, but above all great hilarity. But fear not! Our ball is not just for experienced dancers. It is also the ideal occasion for beginners to get acquainted with the wonderful world of folkloric dancing.

While the autumn makes it dark and chilly outside, all those present get to enjoy the warm atmosphere inside while sipping from a cup of our homemade soup. At the end of each ball, we sing the typical evening song together and then we can only wait until the next edition.

FOLK BALL 2019:

2 November - Heilige-Drievuldigheidscollege Leuven

Entrance via the parking on the square (Damiaanplein) at the back of the building.

Le bal folklorique

Le début de novembre, c’est pour nous la période du bal. Qu’est-ce que çà veut dire pour notre groupe? Vendredi soir on commence par preparer la salle. Premièrement il s’agit du travail physique, traîner des tables et des chaises, et ensuite il faut un peu de créativité pour décorer toute la salle en suivant le thème choisi. Après tout çà, nous avons mérité un petit quelque chose. Conformément à la tradition, on essaie de réussir un strike au bowling, ou de faire tomber au moins quelques quilles.

Samedi soir, le spectacle peut alors commencer. Membres, amis et parents arrivent, les musiciens accordent leurs intstruments et les carnets de bal sont échanger afin d’assurer qu’on a le partenaire parfait pour notre danse préférée. La soirée est entièrement rythmée par la danse et l’amitié. Grâce à la présence de diverses groupes folkloriques, on voit de différentes variantes de certaines danses qui peuvent être source de confusion, mais aussi de beaucoup d’amusement. Mais n’ayez pas peur. Le bal est aussi l’occasion idéale pour les danseurs débutants qui veulent faire la connaissance du monde de la danse folklorique.

Lorsque l’automne faite de l’extérieur un endroit sombre et froid, nos danseurs peuvent goûter à l’ambiance chaleureuse et conviviale à l’intérieur. Y compris notre potage artisanal. La chanson de soir annonce la fin du bal et puis c’est à l’année prochaine pour l’édition suivante.

BAL FOLKLORIQUE de 2020:

7 novembre - Heilige-Drievuldigheidscollege Louvain

Entrée par le parking sur la place (Damiaanplein) à l'arrière du bâtiment.